Uncategorized

I Thank You

Prayer_2

by Timothy Covington

I was hungry
and you formed a humanities club
to discuss my hunger.
I thank you.

I was imprisoned
and you crept off quietly
to your chapel in the cellar
and prayed for my release.
I thank you.

I was naked
and in your mind
you debated the morality of my appearance.
I thank you.

I was sick
and you knelt and thanked God
for your health.
That’s good.

I was lonely
and you left me alone
to pray for me.
I thank you.

I was homeless
and you preached to me
of the spiritual shelter of the love of God.
I thank you.

But I’m still very hungry and sick and lonely,
and still cold.
Leave a Reply

