criminalization / drug policy / Pros&Cons

Pros&Cons

Pros&Cons is a group of federally sentenced inmates at CFF – a federal prison in the Montréal area – that brings together individuals serving time for their involvement in the drug trade, as users, dealers, traffickers, manufacturers. The group discusses the effects of the drug trade, as well as the criminalization of drugs and drug use. The group was initiated by people serving time at CFF. For more information, contact Liam at travailderuenuit@cactusmontreal.org or 514 562 4450. The following article was written by a Pros&Cons group member.

Shared spaces, confused lives

I always considered that I ran a clean business, where the guys working for me didn’t have the right to use, had to appear clean, and be above the average. Until the day where everything changed and I found myself at Bordeaux prison  in the C wing with 180 other inmates, where at least 150 were junkies.

2006, the year where I had to share my life and my space with misery, suffering and despair with these roving bodies who would fight for the butt end of a cigarette on the ground or in the ashtray. I saw the misery and hopelessness in their faces. In the beginning I felt a kind of pity toward them, mixed with a vague sense of guilt about the actions that brought me to this place. I was still in my reality though; I didn’t feel like a criminal. I was living a certain contradiction because all of these people – who I had tried so hard to avoid, because of their addictions, contributed to my above-average lifestyle. These people paid a part of my travels and luxury cars. Now, I eat in the same place as them, wash in the same place as them, and sleep under the same roof. At first, I was disgusted to have to share the same space with these junkies; I was afraid to catch their diseases. I was afraid and had pity for them at the same time. I didn’t understand them, I never took the time to listen to them or to understand them, I didn’t trust them, I was sure that everything they told me was a lie – a search for pity to get a quarter for a good price.
They chose their lives, I didn’t force anyone to use, I was indifferent to their reality. But at the same time I realized to what extent they depended on the drugs that I imported and sold. And how I too was dependent on their dependence and disease to maintain my own standard of living.

Finally, I came to realize that my business wasn’t all as clean as I had thought, not because of me or how I ran it, but because of the negative repercussions it brought about…

Inmate number C9847
Federal Training Centre FTC (CSC)

Espaces partagés, vies confondues

J’ai toujours considéré que je menais une business propre, où les gars n’avaient pas le droit de consommer, devaient bien paraître et être au dessus de la moyenne. Jusqu’au jour où tout a changé et que je me suis retrouvé à Bordeaux dans l’aile ‘c’ avec 180 détenus dont au moins 150 étaient des junkies!

2006, l’année où j’ai dû partager ma vie et mon espace avec la misère, l’angoisse et le désespoir avec ces cadavres ambulants qui se battaient pour des «butch» de cigarettes à terre et dans les cendriers. Je voyais la misère et le désespoir dans leurs visages, au début je ressentais une certaine pitié envers eux, mélangé avec un soupçon de culpabilité face aux actes qui m’avaient mené à cet endroit. J’étais encore dans ma réalité, je ne me sentais pas comme un criminel. Je vivais une certaine contradiction, car tout ces gens que j’avais tant évités, en raison de leurs dépendances, avaient contribué à mon style de vie au-dessus de la moyenne et avaient payé une partie de mes voyages et voitures de luxe. Je devais maintenant manger à la même place qu’eux, me laver à la même place qu’eux et dormir sous le même toit qu’eux. J’étais dégouté de devoir partager tout cet espace avec des junkies et j’avais peur d’attraper leurs maladies. Ils me faisaient peur et pitié en même temps. Je ne les comprenais pas, je n’avais jamais pris le temps de les écouter ni de les comprendre, je ne leurs faisais pas confiance, j’étais certain que tout ce qu’ils disaient était du mensonge et qu’ils cherchaient juste à faire pitié afin d’avoir un quart à bon prix. Ils ont choisi leur vie, je n’ai pas forcé personne à consommer, j’étais indifférent à leur réalité. Cependant, je me suis rendu compte à quel point ils dépendaient de la drogue que j’importais et que je vendais et que j’étais aussi dépendant de leurs dépendances et maladies afin de maintenir mon mode de vie.

Finalement je me rends compte que ma business n’était aussi propre que je le croyais, non pas à cause de moi ni de ma façon de faire mais plutôt en raison des répercussions négatives qu’elle entraîne…

Détenu no. C9847
Centre fédéral de formation (SCC)


Leave a Reply

